OHQ Staff and Advisors

The Oregon Historical Quarterly’s editorial staff ensures the journal maintains a high level of integrity, as the journal of record for Oregon history, and engagement with diverse readers, as a benefit of membership in the Oregon Historical Society. Staff work closely with authors throughout the process of submission, peer-review, editing, fact-checking, image research, and production.

The OHQ Editorial Advisory Board is composed of historians, archivists, archaeologists, scholars, and knowledge-holders from across the state and includes at least three members who bring Indigenous perspectives to the work. Advisors guide staff on processes and outcomes to ensure the Quarterly publishes relevant, complex, and varied studies of Oregon history.


Eliza E. Canty-Jones, Editor

Erin E. Brasell, Managing Editor

Vicky White, Rose Tucker Fellow
Fact checking and photograph research

Kenneth Coleman, Book Review Editor

Editorial Advisory Board

Jennifer Fang, Pittock Mansion and University of Portland

Laura Ferguson, High Desert Museum

Natalia Fernández, Oregon State University

Dennis Griffin, Cultural Horizons

James Harrison, Portland Community College (emeritus)

Audie Huber, Confederated Tribes of Umatilla Indian Reservation

Robert Kentta (Siletz), Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians

Jennifer O’Neal (Grand Ronde), University of Oregon

Chelsea Rose, Southern Oregon University Laboratory of Anthropology

Carmen Thompson, Portland Community College and Portland State University

Joel Zapata, Oregon State University