Mark O. Hatfield Distinguished Historian Forum
About the Forum

For over 15 years, the Mark O. Hatfield Distinguished Historians Forum has provided broad insights and perspectives on United States history. Each series brings together the nation’s top scholars and writers for thought-provoking evenings of history. Most featured lecturers have won a Pulitzer Prize or National Book Award for their writing, and many are among the most revered academicians in the nation.


All Lectures Begin at 7 PM

First Congregational United Church of Christ

1126 SW Park Avenue | Portland, OR 97205

503-228-7219 |

Series and Individual Lecture Tickets On Sale Now!
Buy tickets online through


Lecture Tickets

general price

member price

general price

member price


Patron tickets include prime seating and admission to private, post-lecture receptions with speakers.






Reserved tickets include first floor seating.





general admission






Student tickets require student ID.






Prices include service charge.

Tickets sales are handled exclusively by


Members receive 10% OFF All Tickets! Not a member? Join today!

2015 Mark O. Hatfield Distinguished Historians Forum


Amity Shlaes

February 3, 2015

Author of Coolidge and The Forgotten Man


Read Full Bio


Todd Purdum

March 3, 2015

Author of An Idea Whose Time Has Come: Two Presidents, Two Parties, and the Battle for the Civil Rights Act of 1964


Read Full Bio

  Richard Norton Smith


Richard Norton Smith

April 7, 2015

Author of Author of On His Own Terms: A Life of Nelson Rockefeller


Read Full Bio




Rick Atkinson


Rick Atkinson

May 12, 2015

Author of the Liberation Trilogy: An Army at Dawn, The Day of Battle & The Guns at Last Light


Read Full Bio




Teddy Roosevelt Tour


Special Bonus Lecture Event:
“An Evening with Teddy Roosevelt”

April 28, 2015

Featuring Joe Wiegand, the nation’s leading Teddy Roosevelt recreator.


Read Full Bio



2014 Hatfield Historians Forum
Listen to recordings of the 2014 Mark O. Hatfield Distinguished Historians Forum.
2007-2013 Hatfield Historians Forum
Listed to recordings from the 2007 - 2013 seasons of the Mark O. Hatfield Distinguished Historians Forum.


Mrs. Gert Boyle


Tim and Mary Boyle

Peter & Noydena Brix

Clark Foundation

Melvin "Pete" Mark

Laura S. Meier


The Harold & Arlene Schnitzer
CARE Foundation

Andrée Stevens

Stimson Lumber

Ron E. & Ivy L. Timpe



Sis Hayes

Judy C. Kelley

Prudence M. Miller


Robert & Marilyn Ridgley

The Samuel S. Johnson Foundation

The Shelk Fund of the
Oregon Community Foundation



The Acorn Fund of the Oregon Community Foundation

Perkins Coie

Media Sponsor



Lodging Sponsor



Special Thanks to:

Sokol-Blosser     Stoller
Mark O. Hatfield Distinguished Historians Forum
2014 Hatfield Historians Forum
2007-2013 Hatfield Historians Forum